Is the benefit > the cost?

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.” John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

Tonight I watched A Fault in Our Stars. And AFTER I finished sobbing (I read the book I KNEW how it would end already…still cried) and thinking about the great love of Augustus and Hazel I realized the great brilliance in the writing.

This quote is one of my favorite lines in the movie and I do not stand alone in this opinion. This quote emphasizes and builds off of previous things I have said about negative people in our lives, and it’s one of THE GREATEST lessons that we need to learn.

Why do we insist on allowing ourselves to think that we need to allow anyone in our lives to cause us pain that do not cause us more happiness than that pain. We get to choose who we allow in our lives, yet for some reason we think we NEED to have specific people there, even if they do more harm than good.

But more than anything else this movie puts things in perspective.The pain that these two endure physically and emotionally are tremendous, yet they choose each other because they benefit, even after separated from their relationship. All the time, and obviously I am guilty of this also, we act as if the people who hurt us greatly with lies,cheating, and other foul behavior still have a right to be in our lives.

They don’t. We need to choose the pain that’s worth it. This movie shows that even a teenage love, one that is something between two people who genuinely love each other, care for each other, and want to see each other happy can beat the trauma of cancer and be worth putting up with the fear of losing your significant other EVERY day.

Let’s raise the standards higher and only allow those people in our lives that give so much good, we hardly mind the bad.

lovegif

Leave a comment